Story Image

Auto-Piloten.

Enormer Zeitdruck, viel Gefahrgut, wertvolle Fracht: Die globale Automobilbranche stellt hohe Ansprüche an ihre Logistikpartner. Lufthansa Cargo erfüllt sie seit Jahrzehnten zuverlässig. Und das nicht nur in Notfällen, sondern auch beim Serienanlauf in Überseewerken und in der Regelversorgung.

Weltweite Arbeitsteilung bestimmt die Abläufe in der Automobilindustrie. Zulieferer und die großen Hersteller zieht es in die Wachstumsmärkte. Unzählige Fahrzeugteile werden beispielsweise in Europa gefertigt und in Asien oder Nordamerika verbaut. Auch in umgekehrter Richtung sowie zwischen Nord- und Südamerika oder innerhalb Asiens verlaufen bedeutende Transportströme.

Story Image

Da geht es unter anderem um ganze Autos, Ersatzteile und Prototypenmuster. Um hohe Einfuhrzölle zu vermeiden, lassen Hersteller ihre Fahrzeuge mitunter komplett in Einzelteile zerlegt – Completely Knocked Down (CKD) – über Tausende Kilometer transportieren und in den jeweiligen Zielmärkten montieren.

Die Vorlaufzeiten in der Automobilindustrie sind minimal. Die Fracht muss in klar definierten Zeitfenstern ankommen, um just in time und am besten auch just in sequence verbaut zu werden. Schließlich sind die Bestände klein zu halten und dennoch Produktionsengpässe oder gar -ausfälle unbedingt zu vermeiden.

Hinzu kommt: Viele Teile haben einen hohen Warenwert oder müssen als Gefahrgut transportiert werden. Für Lithium-Ionen-Akkus zum Beispiel, die dank des Aufschwungs der Hybridfahrzeuge immer wichtiger für die Hersteller werden, gilt beides.

Story Image

All das verlangt nach der Geschwindigkeit, der Transportsicherheit und der Flexibilität, die nur die Luftfracht bieten kann – vor allem in besonders zeitkritischen Situationen oder Notfällen, zunehmend aber auch in der regulären Produktionsversorgung. Und es bedarf eines Carriers wie ­Lufthansa Cargo, der die Anforderungen der Hersteller und ihrer Zulieferer genau kennt und die passenden Lösungen für die Branche entwickelt hat.

Mit Emergency.Solutions bietet Lufthansa Cargo ein Express-Produkt für Notsituationen an. Gerät eine Supply Chain einmal unvorhergesehen so sehr ins Wanken, dass ein Produktionsengpass droht und selbst ein Bandstillstand nicht ausgeschlossen ist, sorgt Emergency.Solutions für Abhilfe: Innerhalb von Stunden macht Lufthansa Cargo mit dieser Lösung Lieferungen startklar und bringt dringend benötigte Automobilteile schnell und sicher ans Ziel. Kapazitätslimitierungen sind aufgehoben. Der Weg des Express-Shipments wird konstant dokumentiert und ist dadurch jederzeit für den Kunden nachverfolgbar.

Für Fracht, die als Gefahrgut transportiert werden muss, ist Care/td das richtige Produkt. Das können komplette Fahrzeuge wie Oldtimer, Messe- oder Rennsportfahrzeuge sein. Auch Stoßdämpfer, Airbags und andere Bau- oder Ersatzteile gelangen mit der Speziallösung sicher dorthin, wo sie benötigt werden. Alle Transporte im Rahmen von Care/td entsprechen den IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations. Somit stehen die Sicherheit von Mensch, Sendung, Umwelt und Flugzeug gleichermaßen an erster Stelle.

Kombiniert ist Care/td entweder mit td.Pro für Standardfracht oder mit der Express-Lösung td.Flash. Beides bietet sich als Lösung für Hersteller und Zulieferer an: td.Flash für besonders eilige Lieferungen, td.Pro für die planmäßige Versorgung mit Teilen, wenn etwa in einem Überseewerk die Serienfertigung anläuft, regionale Zulieferer aber noch nicht zertifiziert sind.

Das Express-Produkt Courier.Solutions powered by time:matters ist die ideale Lösung für Shipments, die auf kürzeste Transitzeiten angewiesen sind. Hier wird die Fracht auf dem Vorfeld direkt von Flugzeug zu Flugzeug umgeladen – persönlich überwacht und begleitet durch einen Mitarbeiter des Lufthansa Cargo Partners time:matters.

Durchdachte Logistiklösungen können in der Automobilindustrie zum entscheidenden Erfolgsfaktor werden. Vor allem für Zeitkritisches und zur zuverlässigen Beförderung von Gefahrgütern ist oft das Flugzeug erste Wahl. Lufthansa Cargo bietet der Branche, worauf es ankommt: reiches Know-how und die passenden Produkte:

Emergency.Solutions – macht das Unmögliche möglich
Care/td – für Gefahrgut
td.Flash – für besonders Eiliges
td.Pro – für Standardfracht
Courier.Solutions powered by time:matters – für persönlich überwachten Transit

Fotos:

Daimler, Lufthansa Cargo, Ralf Kreuels

planet 2/2014

Für Fracht, die als Gefahrgut transportiert werden muss, ist Care/td das richtige Produkt. Das können komplette Fahrzeuge wie Oldtimer, Messe- oder Rennsportfahrzeuge sein. Auch Stoßdämpfer, Airbags und andere Bau- oder Ersatzteile gelangen mit der Speziallösung sicher dorthin, wo sie benötigt werden. Alle Transporte im Rahmen von Care/td entsprechen den IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations. Somit stehen die Sicherheit von Mensch, Sendung, Umwelt und Flugzeug gleichermaßen an erster Stelle.

Kombiniert ist Care/td entweder mit td.Pro für Standardfracht oder mit der Express-Lösung td.Flash. Beides bietet sich als Lösung für Hersteller und Zulieferer an: td.Flash für besonders eilige Lieferungen, td.Pro für die planmäßige Versorgung mit Teilen, wenn etwa in einem Überseewerk die Serienfertigung anläuft, regionale Zulieferer aber noch nicht zertifiziert sind.

Das Express-Produkt Courier.Solutions powered by time:matters ist die ideale Lösung für Shipments, die auf kürzeste Transitzeiten angewiesen sind. Hier wird die Fracht auf dem Vorfeld direkt von Flugzeug zu Flugzeug umgeladen – persönlich überwacht und begleitet durch einen Mitarbeiter des Lufthansa Cargo Partners time:matters.

Durchdachte Logistiklösungen können in der Automobilindustrie zum entscheidenden Erfolgsfaktor werden. Vor allem für Zeitkritisches und zur zuverlässigen Beförderung von Gefahrgütern ist oft das Flugzeug erste Wahl. Lufthansa Cargo bietet der Branche, worauf es ankommt: reiches Know-how und die passenden Produkte:

  • Emergency.Solutions – macht das Unmögliche möglich
  • Care/td – für Gefahrgut
  • td.Flash – für besonders Eiliges
  • td.Pro – für Standardfracht
  • Courier.Solutions powered by time:matters – für persönlich überwachten Transit

 

Fotos:

Daimler, Lufthansa Cargo, Ralf Kreuels

planet 2/2014

Story Image

The autopilots.

Considerable time pressure, a great deal of dangerous goods, valuable freight: the global automotive industry places strenuous demands on its logistics partners. Lufthansa Cargo has been reliably fulfilling these requirements for decades. Not only in emergencies but also at the start of serial production in overseas plants and in regular production supply.

Processes in the automotive industry are determined by a global division of labor as suppliers and major manufacturers migrate towards emerging markets. Countless vehicle parts are manufactured in Europe, for example, and then installed in Asia or North America. Major supply flows also move in the opposite direction as well as between North and South America or within Asia. These can include completely assembled vehicles, spare parts and prototype models. 

Story Image

To avoid high import tariffs, manufacturers sometimes dismantle their vehicles into individual parts – Completely Knocked Down (CKD) – before transporting them thousands of kilometers and reassembling them in the respective target markets.

Lead times in the industry are very short. Freight has to be delivered in clearly defined time slots so that it can be assembled just in time and preferably just in sequence. After all, inventory levels must be kept low, and yet production bottlenecks or even production stoppages have to be avoided at all costs. 

In addition to this, many of the parts have a high product value or have to be transported as dangerous goods. Both are true in the case of rechargeable lithium-ion batteries, for example, which are becoming increasingly important thanks to the boom in hybrid vehicles.

Story Image

All in all, this calls for the speed, transport security and flexibility that only airfreight can provide, particularly in time-critical situations or in emergencies, but increasingly also in regular production supply. And it requires a carrier like Lufthansa Cargo with a clear understanding of the requirements of manufacturers and suppliers, and solutions specifically developed for the industry.

Emergency.Solutions is Lufthansa Cargo’s express product for critical situations. When unforeseen circumstances disrupt a supply chain in such a way that production bottlenecks and even assembly line standstills cannot be ruled out, Emergency.Solutions provides the answer: within hours, Lufthansa Cargo can make deliveries ready for take-off and bring urgently needed parts to their destination quickly and safely. Capacity limitations are lifted and the progress of the express shipment is constantly documented, enabling the customer to trace it at all times.

In the case of freight classed as dangerous goods, Care/td is the right product. The goods to be transported can include complete vehicles such as vintage cars, destined for trade fairs or even racing cars. This special solution even ensures that shock absorbers, airbags and other components or spare parts are transported safely to where they are needed. All transports carried out within the framework of Care/td comply with IATA’s Dangerous Goods Regulations. This transport solution ensures that the safety of people, the shipment, the environment and the aircraft is the prime consideration.
 
Care/td can either be combined with td.Pro for standard freight or with the express solution td.Flash. Both provide excellent transport solutions for manufacturers and suppliers: td.Flash for crucial shipments and td.Pro for on-schedule delivery of parts, for example, at the start of serial production in overseas plants when regional suppliers have yet to be certified.
 
The express product Courier.Solutions powered by time:matters is ideal for shipments that require minimal transit times. In this case, the freight, which is personally supervised, is loaded from aircraft to aircraft on the apron and accompanied by a staff member from Lufthansa Cargo’s partner time:matters.
 
Sometimes the distance between a warehouse and an assembly line can be several thousand kilometers – and yet production stoppages must be avoided at all costs. That is why spare parts are often transported by airfreight.
 
  •  Emergency.Solutions – making the impossible possible
  •  Care/td – for dangerous goods utd.Flash – for urgent shipments
  •  td.Pro – for standard freight
  •  Courier.Solutions powered by time:matters – for personally supervised transit 

Photos:

Daimler, Lufthansa Cargo, Ralf Kreuels

planet 2/2014

In the case of freight classed as dangerous goods, Care/td is the right product. The goods to be transported can include complete vehicles such as vintage cars, destined for trade fairs or even racing cars. This special solution even ensures that shock absorbers, airbags and other components or spare parts are transported safely to where they are needed. All transports carried out within the framework of Care/td comply with IATA’s Dangerous Goods Regulations. This transport solution ensures that the safety of people, the shipment, the environment and the aircraft is the prime consideration.

Care/td can either be combined with td.Pro for standard freight or with the express solution td.Flash. Both provide excellent transport solutions for manufacturers and suppliers: td.Flash for crucial shipments and td.Pro for on-schedule delivery of parts, for example, at the start of serial production in overseas plants when regional suppliers have yet to be certified.

The express product Courier.Solutions powered by time:matters is ideal for shipments that require minimal transit times. In this case, the freight, which is personally supervised, is loaded from aircraft to aircraft on the apron and accompanied by a staff member from Lufthansa Cargo’s partner time:matters.

Sometimes the distance between a warehouse and an assembly line can be several thousand kilometers – and yet production stoppages must be avoided at all costs. That is why spare parts are often transported by airfreight.

  • Emergency.Solutions – making the impossible possible
  • Care/td – for dangerous goods utd.Flash – for urgent shipments
  • td.Pro – for standard freight
  • Courier.Solutions powered by time:matters – for personally supervised transit 

 

Photos:

Daimler, Lufthansa Cargo, Ralf Kreuels

planet 2/2014