Story Image

Pharma ist Vertrauenssache.

Der Dienstleister Vetter gehört zu den Weltmarktführern auf seinem Gebiet und arbeitet für die Top Ten der Branche. Eilige Lieferungen an das Zweigwerk in den USA schickt das Pharma-Unternehmen mit Lufthansa Cargo.

Story Image

Die Hoffnung Hunderttausender Patienten weltweit lagert in diesen auf vier Grad Celsius heruntergekühlten Regalen. Auf den Paletten und in den Kartons im Zentrum für Optische Kontrolle und Logistik des Pharmadienstleisters Vetter bei Ravensburg befinden sich Spritzen und Arzneifläschchen (Vials) mit Wirkstoffen zur Behandlung von Krebs, Multipler Sklerose oder Anämie.
Nicht eines der Präparate, das Vetter im Auftrag der großen Pharmafirmen abgefüllt und für den Versand vorbereitet hat, darf auf dem Weg zum Ziel Schaden nehmen – sonst könnte der Therapieerfolg des Patienten in Frankfurt, San Francisco, Nagasaki oder Kapstadt gefährdet sein. Pharma ist Vertrauenssache.

Story Image

Das pünktliche Eintreffen wirksamer Medikamente ist oft lebenswichtig. Und Pharma ist global. Deshalb setzt Vetter aus Ravensburg auf die Zusammenarbeit mit Lufthansa Cargo.

Dabei nutzt das Unternehmen neben den Spezial-Produkten Care/td für Gefahrgut und Cool/td für den temperatursensiblen Transport vom Ravensburger Kühllager aus auch Expresslösungen wie td.Flash und Emergency.Solutions. Als zum Beispiel eine Charge für die Produktion dringend benötigten Materials wegen minimaler Qualitätsmängel nicht für die Herstellung freigegeben wurde, drohte ein Termin für die aseptische Abfüllung eines neuen Wirkstoffs in der Zweigstelle in Chicago zu platzen – „mit erheblichen Schadenswerten im sechsstelligen Bereich“, erinnert sich Dr. Michael Schmitz, Bereichsleiter Planung und Logistik bei Vetter.

Story Image

Notfall in Chicago: Emergency.Solutions verhindert Schlimmeres.

Als einzige praktikable Lösung des Problems kam für Vetter das Produkt Emergency.Solutions von Lufthansa Cargo infrage. Nachdem Vetter die benötigte Ware noch einmal bei einem anderen Zulieferer besorgen konnte, wurde die Ersatzlieferung nach München gebracht und von dort sofort in die USA geflogen. „Wir hatten in dem Fall Glück im Unglück – die Zeitdifferenz zwischen Europa und den USA verschaffte uns einen zusätzlichen Puffer. So erreichte die Sendung am gleichen Tag Chicago, und wir konnten das Medikament wie geplant abfüllen“, sagt Schmitz. Notfälle sind es auch, wenn bei Kunden bestimmte Medikamente „out of stock“ sind oder Freigabemuster an externe beziehungsweise Kundenlabore verschickt werden müssen.

„In diesen Fällen rechnen wir in Stunden und versuchen, alles Mögliche zu unternehmen, um das Problem auf dem schnellsten Weg zu lösen“, so Schmitz. Wichtiger Ansprechpartner ist Michael G. Butz von Lufthansa Cargo. Als Account Manager Sales am Stuttgarter Flughafen unterstützt und betreut er Vetter bei deren sensiblen Transporten. Die sind auch für ­jemanden wie Butz „eine besonders anspruchsvolle Ebene. Hier zählt das Kundenvertrauen in unsere Leistungen und Möglichkeiten“, betont er. „Rein formal betrachtet ist unser ­Ansprechpartner natürlich immer eine Spedition. Vetters Logistikpartner vor Ort ist die Grieshaber Logistics Group. Aber wir wollen direkt im Kontakt sein für die Klärung grundsätz­licher Fragen und nicht zuletzt, um – für den Fall der Fälle – einen Notfallplan zu entwickeln.“

Story Image

Der Versand erfolgt in speziellen Kühlcontainern, den Envirotainern. Sie sind mit individuellen Codes gekennzeichnet, die eine lückenlose Sendungsverfolgung ebenso erlauben wie die Transportdokumentation. Die Temperaturaufzeichnung erfolgt vielfach doppelt, neben den Sensoren von Lufthansa Cargo setzen viele Kunden zusätzlich auch eigene Temperaturmessgeräte ein.

Auch abseits der extrem zeitsensiblen Transporte ist Lufthansa ­Cargo ein wichtiger Logistikpartner für Vetter, zum Beispiel mit Blick auf das Zweigwerk in den USA. Denn in den USA haben die Großen der ­Pharmabranche ihren Hauptsitz. Als Pharmadienstleister unterstützt Vetter diese bereits während der Entwicklung neuer Wirkstoffe. „In Chicago geht es vor allem um Entwicklungen, die oft mehr als zehn Jahre dauern und über mehrere Stufen – sogenannte klinische Phasen – verlaufen“, erklärt Schmitz. „Hier entscheiden sich viele Pharma- und Biotechunternehmen für uns als Partner. Wir können aufgrund unserer Kapazitäten alle Entwicklungsphasen – von der kleinsten klinischen Abfüllung über die Medikamentenzulassung bis zur kommerziellen Marktversorgung – für sie übernehmen.“

Story Image

Was immer schnell am Standort Chicago benötigt wird, geht als Luftfracht raus. Das Vetter-­Logistikzentrum Ravensburg ist Luftfrachtsicherheitszone und das Unternehmen als Bekannter Versender akkreditiert. Warum das? „Einerseits reagieren zahlreiche Substanzen oder sogenannte Halbfertigprodukte, die wir versenden, sehr sensibel auf Licht oder Röntgenstrahlen. Außerdem würden bei Kontrollen an einem Flughafen sonst Sendungen geöffnet. Für unsere Kunden wäre das ein Siegelbruch, sie dürften diese Lieferungen aus Gründen der Produktsicherheit nicht mehr annehmen und verwenden“, erklärt Schmitz.

Keimfreie Produktion: Die komplexen Injektionssysteme von Vetter werden zum Teil aus Komponenten zusammengesetzt.

Story Image

Um die Produktsicherheit zu gewährleisten, werden Luftfrachttransporte von Vetter im Vorfeld simuliert, wie Claudia Kloos, Logistics Manager bei Vetter International, erklärt: „Wir müssen zum Beispiel sicherstellen, dass die Verschlüsse in Spritzen durch die Druckverhältnisse beim Versand via Luftfracht nicht verrutschen, was zu einer Verunreinigung führen könnte. Also testen wir das zunächst intensiv bei uns. Schließlich schicken wir eine Testsendung auf die Reise. Aber das ist nur ein letzter, zusätzlicher Schritt, der selbstverständlich umfassend dokumentiert wird. Denn an diesem Punkt sind wir schon nahezu sicher, dass das Produkt oder die Verpackung so ausgelegt sind, dass nichts passieren kann.“

Story Image

Die Vetter-Story.

Die Vetter Pharma-Fertigung GmbH & Co. KG gehört zu den führenden Unternehmen auf ihrem Gebiet und ist als Dienstleister für die Top Ten der Pharma- und Biotech-Branche sowie zahlreiche kleine und mittelgroße Firmen aktiv. Helmut Vetter begründete 1950 mit der Eröffnung einer Apotheke das heutige Hightech-Unternehmen, dessen Spezialität die Entwicklungsunterstützung und aseptische Abfüllung von Spritzen, Karpulen und Vials (Arzneifläschchen) ist.

Als Partner der Pharmakonzerne verfügt Vetter über profunde Erfahrung in der Verarbeitung hochkomplexer Substanzen. Das Unternehmen unterstützt die Auftraggeber in sämtlichen ­Lebenszyklen eines Medikaments. Vetter ist mit derzeit 3.300 Mitarbeitern an neun Standorten im Raum Ravensburg sowie in Langenargen am Bodensee präsent. Der Entwicklungsstandort in Chicago wurde 2009 erworben und produziert seit 2011. Vetter verfügt derzeit in und um Ravensburg über zwei Logistikstandorte. Die Kapazität des 2012 fertiggestellten Zentrums für Optische Kontrolle und Logistik wird aufgrund hoher Kundennachfrage in den kommenden Jahren mehr als verdoppelt.

www.vetter-pharma.com

Fotos:

Martin Stollberg, Vetter Pharma GmbH

planet 2/2014

Story Image

Pharmaceuticals are a matter of trust.

The service provider Vetter is one of the global leaders in its field and works for the Top Ten of the industry. The pharmaceutical company uses Lufthansa Cargo to send urgent shipments to the branch facility in the USA.

Story Image

The hope of hundreds of thousands of patients is stored at the pharmaceutical services provider Vetter’s Center for Optical Control and Logistics near Ravensburg. On shelves that have been cooled down to a temperature of four degrees Celsius. The pallets and cartons there contain syringes and vials with active substances for the treatment of cancer, multiple sclerosis or anemia.

Any damage in transit of the medicinal compounds that Vetter fills up and prepares for shipment on behalf of the big pharmaceutical companies would jeopardize the therapeutic success of patients in Frankfurt, San Francisco, Nagasaki or Cape Town. So every effort is made to ensure that this does not happen. The pharmaceuticals business is all about trust. The punctual arrival of effective medicines is often vital. And the industry is global. That’s why the company Vetter, based in Ravensburg, relies on its cooperation with Lufthansa Cargo.

Story Image

In addition to Care/td for dangerous substances and Cool/td for the transport of temperature-sensitive goods from the cold storage warehouse in Ravensburg, the company also uses express solutions such as td.Flash and Emergency.Solutions. Once, when a batch for the production of urgently needed material could not be released for manufacturing because of minimal quality defects, there was a risk of failure to meet a deadline for the asceptic filling of a new active substance at the branch facility in Chicago – “with substantial losses in the six-digit range,” recalls Dr. Michael Schmitz, Head of Planning and Logistics at Vetter.

Story Image

Time-critical in Chicago: Emergency. Solutions saves the day.

For Vetter, the only practicable solution to the problem was Lufthansa Cargo’s Emergency.Solutions. After Vetter had obtained the goods required from a different supplier, the substitute delivery was transported to Munich and immediately flown from there to the USA. “In this case, misfortune and luck hit at the same time – the time difference between Europe and the USA gave us an additional buffer. The shipment reached Chicago on the same day, and we were able to fill the medicine as planned,” says Schmitz.

Emergency.Solutions is also the ideal choice when clients find that certain medicines are out of stock or if release samples have to be sent to external or client laboratories.

“In these cases, we’re talking about hours that matter, and we make every effort to solve the problem in the quickest possible way,” says Schmitz. An important contact partner is Michael G. Butz from Lufthansa Cargo. As Account Manager Sales at Stuttgart Airport, he supports and advises Vetter with regard to their transportation of sensitive goods. Even for someone like Butz, they are “a very special client. Trust in our capabilities and possibilities is what counts most here,” he emphasizes.

“From a purely formal angle, our contact partner is, of course, always a forwarding company. Vetter’s logistics partner at the local level is the Grieshaber Logistics Group. But we want to stay in direct contact to sort out basic questions, and, most importantly, in order to develop an emergency plan if necessary – to be prepared for all eventualities.”

Story Image

The goods are shipped in special cooled containers, the Envirotainers. They are marked with individual codes that enable seamless shipment tracking as well as transport documentation. The temperatures are often recorded in duplicate, with many customers using their own temperature recording devices alongside Lufthansa Cargo’s sensors.

Extremely time-critical transportation is not the only field in which Lufthansa Cargo is an important logistics partner for Vetter, particularly with regard to its U.S. branch facility. The headquarters of the big players in the pharmaceutical industry are located in the USA. As a provider of pharmaceutical services, Vetter supports them during the development phase of new substances. “In Chicago, this primarily means development that often lasts more than ten years and passes through several stages – these are called clinical phases,” explains Schmitz.

“Many pharmaceutical and bio-tech companies choose us as partner here. Thanks to our capacities, we can take on all development phases for them – from the smallest clinical filling through to medicine approval and commercial market supply.”

Story Image

Whatever is required quickly at the Chicago location is shipped as airfreight. Vetter’s Logistics Center in Ravensburg is an airfreight security zone and the company is accredited as a Known Consignor. Why? “On the one hand, numerous substances or semifinished products that we ship react very sensitively to light or X-rays. In addition, shipments would otherwise be opened during security checks at airports. That would constitute a breaking of the seal for our clients and, for product safety reasons, they would no longer be able to accept and use these supplies,” explains Schmitz.

Germ-free production: Some of Vetter’s complex injection systems consist of numerous components.

Story Image

In order to guarantee product safety, Vetter’s airfreight transports are simulated beforehand, as Claudia Kloos, Logistics Manager at Vetter International explains: “We have to ensure for example that the syringe caps don’t slip because of pressure conditions during airfreight shipment, which would cause contamination. So we test this intensively ourselves beforehand. At the end of the testing process we send out a test shipment. But that’s just an extra precautionary step, which, it goes without saying, is extensively documented. At that stage we are virtually certain anyway that the product or the packaging has been put together in such a way that nothing can go wrong.”

Schmitz, Kloos and Butz know that a great deal of time and money is invested in pharmaceutical handling, but this is no comparison to the damage that would result from the negligent shipment of a piece of cargo. “Through our sustained reliability we have built up the trust of our clients. That’s why we do our utmost not to damage this trust,” says Schmitz.

Story Image

The Vetter Story.

Vetter Pharma-Fertigung GmbH & Co. KG is one of the leading companies in its field and offers services to the Top Ten of the pharmaceuticals and bio-tech industry and to numerous small and medium-sized firms. Helmut Vetter founded what is now a high-tech company by opening a pharmacy in 1950. The company specializes in development support and the asceptic filling of syringes, cartridges and vials.

As a partner of pharmaceutical groups, Vetter has profound experience in processing highly complex substances. The company supports clients through all life cycles of a medicine. Vetter currently operates with 3,300 employees at nine facilities in the Ravensburg region and in Langenargen on Lake Constance. The development facility in Chicago was acquired in 2009 and began production in 2011. Vetter currently has two logistics facilities in and near Ravensburg. Due to high customer demand the capacity of the Center for Optical Control and Logistics completed in 2012 will be more than doubled in the years to come.

www.vetter-pharma.com

Photos:

Martin Stollberg, Vetter Pharma GmbH

planet 2/2014