Lufthansa Cargo erweitert digitales Service-Angebot

API-Schnittstellen „GetCapacity“ und „GetRates“ bieten Zugriff auf Kapazitäts- und Ratendaten.

Nicht nur wenn Fracht bereits unterwegs ist, spielen Geschwindigkeit und Zuverlässigkeit eine große Rolle. Schon bei der Buchungsanfrage kann es manchmal auf jede Sekunde ankommen. Deshalb stellt Lufthansa Cargo ihren Kunden ab sofort zwei neue Programmierschnittstellen für ihre Anwendungen zur Verfügung: Mit den APIs „GetCapacity“ und „GetRates“ bietet die Fracht-Airline den Partnern einen direkten Zugriff auf Kapazitäts- und Ratendaten. Unternehmen können somit die Daten schnell und einfach im eigenen System nutzen und weiterverarbeiten, ohne sie manuell uploaden zu müssen. Darüber hinaus stehen mit dem Echtzeit-Datenaustausch zur Kapazität auch außerhalb der Bürozeiten Informationen zur Flugauslastung bereit. Ein Service, der nicht nur den Informationsaustausch beschleunigt, sondern diesen auch massiv vereinfacht und Fehler minimiert.

“Wir bauen die digitalen standardisierten Schnittstellen für unsere Kunden kontinuierlich aus, um die System-zu-System-Kommunikation weiter zu vereinfachen“, erklärt Boris Hueske, Head of Digital Transformation bei Lufthansa Cargo. „Die steigenden Nutzerzahlen beweisen, wie hoch die Akzeptanz dafür im Markt ist. Für Lufthansa Cargo ist dies ein weiterer Schritt auf dem Weg zu einem digitaleren Unternehmen.“

„GetCapacity“ und „GetRates“ ergänzen die bereits etablierten Schnittstellen „Tracking“ und „GetRoutes“. Anders als die Vorgänger übertragen die neuen APIs jedoch schützenswerte Daten und werden Interessenten daher auf Anfrage zur Verfügung gestellt. „Tracking“ und „GetRoutes“ können hingegen wie gewohnt unter www.developer.lufthansa.com abgerufen werden. Die Nutzung aller APIs ist selbsterklärend und meist ohne Einweisung möglich.

Mit der Erweiterung der Web Services baut Lufthansa Cargo das bereits bestehende digitale Angebot weiter aus und verbessert so nicht nur die Konnektivität zu den eigenen Kunden, sondern definiert neue digitale Standards für die gesamte Luftfracht-Branche. Für die Zukunft sind weitere intelligente Web Services rund um die Buchung bereits in Planung.

Lufthansa Cargo expanding its range of digital services

API interfaces ‘GetCapacity’ and ‘GetRates’ provide access to capacity and rate data.

Speed and reliability play a major role not only when cargo is in transit. Already during the booking request, it is sometimes the case that every second counts. For this reason, Lufthansa Cargo is now offering its customers two new programming interfaces for their applications: With the APIs ‘GetCapacity’ and ‘GetRates’, the freight airline is offering its partners direct access to capacity and rate data. Companies can thus use the data quickly and easily in their own system and process it further without having to manually upload it. In addition, real-time data exchange on capacity makes information on flight utilisation available also outside of office hours. It’s a service that not only speeds up the exchange of information but also massively simplifies it and minimises errors.

‘We are continually expanding the digital standardised interfaces for our customers in order to further simplify system-to-system communication’, explains Boris Hueske, Head of Digital Transformation at Lufthansa Cargo. ‘The increasing number of users proves how widespread market acceptance is. For Lufthansa Cargo, this is another step on the way to becoming a more digital enterprise.’

‘GetCapacity’ and ‘GetRates’ complement the already established ‘Tracking’ and ‘GetRoutes’ interfaces. Unlike its predecessors, however, the new APIs transmit data worthy of protection and are therefore made available to interested parties on request. In contrast, ‘Tracking’ and ‘GetRoutes’ can be called up as usual under The use of all APIs is self-explanatory and usually possible without instruction.

With the expansion of Web Services, Lufthansa Cargo is further enlarging its existing digital product range on offer, therefore not only improving connectivity to its own customers but also defining new digital standards for the entire air freight industry. For the future, additional intelligent web services for booking are already being planned.

Contact persons - press information on request.

Here is the right contact partner for your press queries. But please understand: The phone numbers and email addresses are only for journalists. We can unfortunately not handle customer queries. 

Should you wish to contact Lufthansa as a customer, please get in touch with your local Lufthansa Cargo office. All the details are on the relevant country page.

Customers in Germany can address queries to a contact partner per email at or by phone 01805-747100

Jacqueline Casini - Director Communications & Environmental Management.

Phone: ++49 69 696-95447

Andreas Pauker - Head of PR.

Phone: ++49 69 696-95537

Annual Report