Lufthansa Cargo bleibt in anspruchsvollem Marktumfeld auf Kurs

Frachtairline stärkt Netzwerk


 

Lufthansa Cargo konnte in den ersten neun Monaten des Jahres ihre Flugzeuge gut ausgelastet in die Luft schicken. Zwar blieb auch im dritten Quartal das Marktumfeld herausfordernd. Dank eines flexiblen und nachfrageorientierten Kapazitätsmanagements erreichte die Frachtairline aber einen Nutzladefaktor von gut 69 Prozent – ein für die Branche sehr hoher Wert. Die Menge an beförderter Fracht und Post reduzierte sich im Vergleich zum Vorjahr um 3,2 Prozent.

 

„Lufthansa Cargo bleibt auch in einem anspruchsvollen Markt auf Kurs“, sagte der Vorstandsvorsitzende der Frachtairline, Peter Gerber. „Hohe Flexibilität, Kundennähe und Top-Qualität haben sich auch im dritten Quartal des Jahres ausgezahlt.“ Beim Blick in das vierte Quartal zeigte sich Gerber vorsichtig optimistisch. Er erwarte eine weitere saisonale Belebung der Nachfrage zum Weihnachtsgeschäft.

 

Gezielt hat Lufthansa Cargo auch im vergangenen Quartal in das eigene Netzwerk investiert. Seit Mitte September fliegt die Frachtairline Lagos in Nigeria zweimal wöchentlich mit der MD-11F an. Weitere neue Strecken sollen in den kommenden Wochen folgen.

Zudem gestaltet Lufthansa Cargo durch das Joint Venture mit All Nippon Airways (ANA) auf den Strecken zwischen Japan und Europa das Angebot für ihre Kunden noch attraktiver. Ab Dezem-ber profitieren sie von dem kombinierten Netz der beiden Fluggesellschaften und haben dann die Auswahl aus wesentlich mehr Direktverbindungen.

 

Das wirtschaftliche Ergebnis für die ersten neun Monate des Jahres wird am 30. Oktober bekannt gegeben.

Lufthansa Cargo remains on track despite a challenging market environment

Cargo airline strengthens network


 

Lufthansa Cargo’s aircraft took to the skies with well-utilised capacities in the first nine months of 2014. Although the market environment remained challenging in the third quarter, a flexible and demand-focused capacity management generated a cargo load factor of just over 69 per cent – an excellent result for the sector. Freight and mail throughput showed a year-on-year decline of 3.2 per cent.

 

“Lufthansa Cargo remains on track despite a challenging market environment”, said the freight airline’s Chairman of the Executive Board and CEO Peter Gerber. “High flexibility, strong customer orientation and top quality also paid off in the third quarter of the year.” In his forecast for the fourth quarter Gerber was cautiously optimistic. He expects a seasonal upturn in demand for the Christmas season.

 

Lufthansa Cargo also invested specifically in its own network during the last quarter. Since mid- September the cargo airline has been flying an MD-11F to Lagos, Nigeria twice a week. And more new routes will be added over the coming weeks.

 

In addition, Lufthansa Cargo will become even more attractive for its customers on the routes between Japan and Europe thanks to a joint venture with All Nippon Airways (ANA). As of December they will benefit from the combined network of the two airlines and a much larger choice of direct flights.

 

The economic result for the first nine months of 2014 will be announced on 30 October.



Contact persons - press information on request.

Here is the right contact partner for your press queries. But please understand: The phone numbers and email addresses are only for journalists. We can unfortunately not handle customer queries. 

Should you wish to contact Lufthansa as a customer, please get in touch with your local Lufthansa Cargo office. All the details are on the relevant country page.

Customers in Germany can address queries to a contact partner per email at lhcargo@dlh.de or by phone 01805-747100

Jacqueline Casini - Director Communications & Environmental Management.

Phone: ++49 69 696-95447
Fax: ++49 69 696-91185
e-Mail: jacqueline.casini@dlh.de

Andreas Pauker - Head of PR.

Phone: ++49 69 696-95537
Fax: ++49 69 696-91185
e-Mail: andreas.pauker@dlh.de

Annual Report