Story Image

Hummermäßig.

Amerikanischer Hummer ist weltweit eine begehrte Delikatesse. Mit einer temperaturkontrollierten Transportkette und sorgfältiger Planung sorgt Lufthansa Cargo dafür, dass das Schalentier spätestens 96 Stunden nach seinem Fang in Europa und Asien frisch auf dem Teller landet.

55.000 Menschen und deren Familien leben an der Atlantikküste des US-Bundesstaates Maine und Kanadas vom Hummerfang. Die mehr als 17.000 unabhängigen Betriebe sind oft seit Generationen in Familienhand.

Story Image

Als Sandwich, Suppe, Pfannkuchen oder mit Pommes und Ketchup als Beilage – im US-Bundesstaat Maine und den Provinzen im Osten Kanadas gibt es Hummer in allen erdenklichen Variationen. 130.000 Tonnen der Schalentiere wurden hier zwischen 2010 und 2012 gefischt. Ihr Wert: fast eine Milliarde Dollar.

Zigtausende Menschen leben direkt oder indirekt vom Hummerfang. Während er für die Einheimischen ein Grundnahrungsmittel ist, gilt der amerikanische Hummer im Rest der Welt als Delikatesse: Allein in die EU wurden 2011 fast 18.000 Tonnen exportiert, meist als Lebendtransport. Und die Nachfrage steigt, zum Beispiel in Asien.

Innerhalb von 48 bis 96 Stunden nach dem Fang landet der Hummer auf dem Teller – und zwar weltweit.

Story Image

Das stellt höchste Anforderungen an den Transport. Denn die empfindlichen Tiere müssen einzeln verpackt werden und die Kühlkette ist jederzeit einzuhalten. Schnell muss es außerdem gehen.

Deshalb setzt auch Worldwide Perishables (WWP) – eines der Unternehmen, die den Hummer aus dieser Region transportieren auf Lufthansa Cargo. Der Luftfrachtexperte bringt die Meerestiere über Boston und Frankfurt in die europäischen und asiatischen Märkte.

20 Prozent des Fangs werden vor Ort verarbeitet. Der Rest wird je zur Hälfte lebendig und tiefgefroren transportiert. Innerhalb von sechs Stunden erreicht der Hummer Worldwide Perishables (WWP). Dort wird er in speziellen Kühlboxen verpackt. Dann übernehmen Alexander Karst, Director Sales and Handling US Eastcoast and Mid-Atlantic, und sein Team den Transport.

Fotos:

Lars Kruse, Fotolia / Mikael Damkier, Tobias Everke

planet 1/2014

Story Image

Claws.

American lobster is a prized delicacy all over the world. With its temperature-controlled chain of transportation and careful planning, Lufthansa Cargo ensures that the crustacean lands fresh on plates in Europe and Asia no later than 96 hours after it was caught.

55,000 people and their families on the Atlantic coast of the U.S. state of Maine and Canada live from lobster fishing. Some of the over 17,000 independent businesses have been family-owned for generations.

Story Image

As a sandwich, soup, pancake or served with French fries and ketchup – in the U.S. state of Maine and in the provinces of eastern Canada, lobster is available in all conceivable variations. 130,000 tons of the crustaceans were fished here between 2010 and 2012. Their value: almost one billion dollars.

Tens of thousands of people live directly or indirectly from lobstering. Whereas the locals view it as a staple, American lobster ranks as a delicacy elsewhere in the world: almost 18,000 tons were exported to the EU in 2011 alone, and the animals were usually still alive during transport. And demand is on the rise, for example, in Asia.

Within just 48 to 96 hours after being caught, lobsters land on plates all over the world.

Story Image

This imposes the most stringent requirements on transportation, as the fragile animals must be packed individually and compliance with the refrigeration chain constantly guaranteed. Speed is also a crucial factor.

This is why Worldwide Perishables (WWP), the company responsible for lobster transportation in this region, relies on Lufthansa Cargo. The airfreight specialist transports the seafood to markets in Europe and Asia via Boston and Frankfurt.

20 percent are processed locally. The remainder is split evenly and either transported live or deep-frozen. Within six hours, the lobsters reach Worldwide Perishables (WWP), where they are packed in special cool boxes. Alexander Karst, Director Sales and Handling U.S. East Coast and Mid-Atlantic, and his team then take over the task of transportation.

Photos:

Lars Kruse, Fotolia / Mikael Damkier, Tobias Everke

planet 1/2014