Story Image

Starke (Be)förderer.

Equipment für die Öl- und Gasindustrie muss schnell verfügbar sein – sonst kann es teuer werden. Lufthansa Cargo ist mit seinem dichten Streckennetz perfekter Partner der Branche. Zum Beispiel für Benthic: Der Experte für geotechnische Untersuchungen lässt Bohrproben mit Cool/td um die halbe Welt fliegen.

Weit draußen auf einem Schiff vor der Küste Mosambiks wird ein Bohrgerät ins Wasser gelassen. Von einer Rampe am Heck taucht der Koloss aus Metall hinab ins Meer. Seinen Job macht er unten auf dem Grund, in bis zu 3.000 Meter Tiefe. Dort schraubt sich der Bohrer in den Boden und entnimmt Proben. Ob Schlamm, Sand, Steine oder Felsen – das Material im Meeresgrund gibt Unternehmen aus der Öl- und Gasbranche Aufschluss darüber, wo der Bau von Pipelines, Fundamenten oder Verankerungssystemen für ihre Ölplattformen möglich ist. 

Story Image

Die Proben, oft nur literweise Schlamm und Stein, können für die Industrie Millionen wert sein. „Einige der größten geologischen Strukturen des Planeten liegen in der Tiefsee. Außerdem finden die meisten vulkanischen Aktivitäten und tektonischen Bewegungen auf dem Meeresboden statt“, so Shannon Martin, Offshore Manager bei Benthic. Auch in den Ölfeldern, wo die großen Konzerne künftig ihre Plattformen stationieren wollen, kann der Boden also eine Menge Risiken bergen. Das Unternehmen, für das Martin arbeitet, hat sich auf die Erfassung der wertvollen Informationen aus der Tiefe spezialisiert.

Mit den Spezialbohrern, den Portable Remotely Operated Drills, die man bei Benthic kurz „PROD“ nennt, ist die Firma heute weltweit im Einsatz. Das Unternehmen hat sich im vergangenen Jahrzehnt zu einem End-to-End-Anbieter von geophysikalischer und geotechnischer Beratung, Ingenieurtechnik, und Daten­erfassungsdienstleistung entwickelt.

Muss schweres Bohrgerät für eine Ölquelle in der Nordsee unverzüglich von Texas nach Norwegen oder ein Teil einer Leitung wegen eines Defekts nach Brasilien gebracht werden, setzt die Branche auf Luftfracht.

Denn steht der Betrieb auf einer Ölplattform erst einmal still, kann das mehrere 100.000 Dollar am Tag kosten. Speziell, wenn es um die Gewinnung von Öl und Gas geht, kommt es bei Transporten häufig auf jede Minute an. Auch bei Benthic heißt es, keine Zeit zu verlieren.

„Sobald wir auf einem teuren Offshore-Schiff sind, ist ein schneller und effizienter Transport von Ersatzteilen und Verbrauchsmaterialien entscheidend“, so Martin. 

Auf Luftfracht angewiesen ist das Unternehmen aber vor allem, weil die Proben, die ihre Bohrer aus dem Meeresgrund holen, unversehrt ins Labor nach Houston gebracht werden müssen. Konsistenz und Temperatur der Proben dürfen nicht durch die Reise nach Texas beeinflusst werden. Während des Transports müssen die Proben deshalb konstant auf niedriger Temperatur gehalten werden.

„Insbesondere Meeresbodensedimente sind anfällig für grobe Behandlung oder Temperaturschwankungen“, sagt Martin. Viel Mühe investiere das Unternehmen deshalb, um Störungen in der Transportkette zu vermeiden. Für die anspruchsvolle Logistik ist Kuehne + Nagel zuständig. Bei den Lufttransporten nutzt die Spedition die Lösungen von Lufthansa Cargo.

Alle sechs Wochen organisieren Vernon Sinden von Kuehne + Nagel und Jacques Nortje, der bei Lufthansa Cargo in Südafrika in der Abteilung Customer Development tätig ist, die Transporte für Benthic aus dem Osten Mosambiks nach Amerika.

In einem Kühlbehälter kommen die Proben ans Festland.

Ein Lkw fährt die Fracht zum Flughafen Pemba, von dort geht es per Charterflugzeug nach Johannesburg – alles koordiniert von Kuehne+Nagel.

In Südafrika übernimmt Lufthansa Cargo den Transport. In einem Kühl-/Heizcontainer, dem Unicooler, geht es über Frankfurt nach Houston. „Benthic nutzt für seine Transporte hauptsächlich unser Produkt Cool/td-Active“, so Jacques Nortje.

Der Spezial-Service unterstützt die Aufrechterhaltung der Kühlkette während des Transports von Afrika über Frankfurt nach Houston. Lückenlose Dokumentation während des Transports und proaktive Kommunikation eingeschlossen. 

Im Unicooler, in dem die Proben liegen, herrschen entsprechende Temperaturen.

„Effiziente und gut koordinierte Logistik ist einer unserer wichtigsten Erfolgsfaktoren. Wir setzen stark auf die Kompetenz unseres Logistikpartners Kuehne+Nagel. So kommen wir auch in den anspruchsvollen Gebieten der Welt mit unserer Arbeit voran“, sagt Martin.

Allein sechs Mitarbeiter sind bei Benthic an der Logistik beteiligt. „In den vergangenen zwölf Monaten haben wir per Luftfracht 25 Tonnen Proben aus Ostafrika nach Houston geliefert“, so Martin.

Die Geschichte von Benthic startete in Sydney, Australien.

Die Firma, deren Name darauf hinweist, dass sie sich mit dem Meeresboden beschäftigt (Benthal: Bodenregion von Flüssen, Seen und Meeren), entstand aus einem wissenschaftlichen Projekt der University of Sydney.

Das Ergebnis des Projekts ist noch heute ein Schlüssel für den Erfolg des Unternehmens: Die Ingenieure konstruierten einen transportierbaren, ferngesteuerten Bohrer. Dieser zog bald das Interesse australischer Ölunternehmen auf sich.

Für die Firmen in Down Under war die Erfindung eine gute Alternative zu großen Bohrschiffen, die sie zuvor aus der ganzen Welt chartern mussten.

„Das Besondere an Benthic ist, dass aus einem Gerät für eine bestimmte technische Notwendigkeit ein Unternehmen geworden ist und eben nicht andersherum“, erklärt Martin. 

In den folgenden Jahren wurde der Bohrer für die Anwendungen an Öl- und Gaslagerstätten weiter optimiert. „Wir können auch unter schwierigen Bedingungen an größere Mengen hochwertiger Proben kommen als jede andere Unterwasser-Bohranlage, die derzeit auf dem Markt ist“, so Martin weiter.

Drei unabhängig voneinander einstellbare Ausleger ermöglichen PROD auch auf unebenem Meeresgrund eine weiche Landung.

Drei Untersee-Bohrsysteme von Benthic sind heute rund um die Welt im Einsatz. Die Firma beschäftigt 115 Mitarbeiter. 2012 ist das Unternehmen mit seinem Hauptsitz von Australien nach Houston gezogen, einem der wichtigsten Standorte der Öl- und Gasbranche. Besonders stolz ist Martin auf ein aktuelles Projekt in Ostafrika: „Wir haben mit Kuehne+Nagel und Lufthansa Cargo in sieben Transporten 18,7 Tonnen Proben nach Houston liefern können. Ohne Schäden und ohne Verspätungen!“

www.benthic.com 

Muss schweres Bohrgerät für eine Ölquelle in der Nordsee unverzüglich von Texas nach Norwegen oder ein Teil einer Leitung wegen eines Defekts nach Brasilien gebracht werden, setzt die Branche auf Luftfracht.

Denn steht der Betrieb auf einer Ölplattform erst einmal still, kann das mehrere 100.000 Dollar am Tag kosten. Speziell, wenn es um die Gewinnung von Öl und Gas geht, kommt es bei Transporten häufig auf jede Minute an. Auch bei Benthic heißt es, keine Zeit zu verlieren.

„Sobald wir auf einem teuren Offshore-Schiff sind, ist ein schneller und effizienter Transport von Ersatzteilen und Verbrauchsmaterialien entscheidend“, so Martin. 

Auf Luftfracht angewiesen ist das Unternehmen aber vor allem, weil die Proben, die ihre Bohrer aus dem Meeresgrund holen, unversehrt ins Labor nach Houston gebracht werden müssen. Konsistenz und Temperatur der Proben dürfen nicht durch die Reise nach Texas beeinflusst werden. Während des Transports müssen die Proben deshalb konstant auf niedriger Temperatur gehalten werden.

„Insbesondere Meeresbodensedimente sind anfällig für grobe Behandlung oder Temperaturschwankungen“, sagt Martin. Viel Mühe investiere das Unternehmen deshalb, um Störungen in der Transportkette zu vermeiden. Für die anspruchsvolle Logistik ist Kuehne + Nagel zuständig. Bei den Lufttransporten nutzt die Spedition die Lösungen von Lufthansa Cargo.

Alle sechs Wochen organisieren Vernon Sinden von Kuehne + Nagel und Jacques Nortje, der bei Lufthansa Cargo in Südafrika in der Abteilung Customer Development tätig ist, die Transporte für Benthic aus dem Osten Mosambiks nach Amerika.

In einem Kühlbehälter kommen die Proben ans Festland.

Ein Lkw fährt die Fracht zum Flughafen Pemba, von dort geht es per Charterflugzeug nach Johannesburg – alles koordiniert von Kuehne+Nagel.

In Südafrika übernimmt Lufthansa Cargo den Transport. In einem Kühl-/Heizcontainer, dem Unicooler, geht es über Frankfurt nach Houston. „Benthic nutzt für seine Transporte hauptsächlich unser Produkt Cool/td-Active“, so Jacques Nortje.

Der Spezial-Service unterstützt die Aufrechterhaltung der Kühlkette während des Transports von Afrika über Frankfurt nach Houston. Lückenlose Dokumentation während des Transports und proaktive Kommunikation eingeschlossen. 

Im Unicooler, in dem die Proben liegen, herrschen entsprechende Temperaturen.

„Effiziente und gut koordinierte Logistik ist einer unserer wichtigsten Erfolgsfaktoren. Wir setzen stark auf die Kompetenz unseres Logistikpartners Kuehne+Nagel. So kommen wir auch in den anspruchsvollen Gebieten der Welt mit unserer Arbeit voran“, sagt Martin.

Allein sechs Mitarbeiter sind bei Benthic an der Logistik beteiligt. „In den vergangenen zwölf Monaten haben wir per Luftfracht 25 Tonnen Proben aus Ostafrika nach Houston geliefert“, so Martin.

Die Geschichte von Benthic startete in Sydney, Australien.

Die Firma, deren Name darauf hinweist, dass sie sich mit dem Meeresboden beschäftigt (Benthal: Bodenregion von Flüssen, Seen und Meeren), entstand aus einem wissenschaftlichen Projekt der University of Sydney.

Das Ergebnis des Projekts ist noch heute ein Schlüssel für den Erfolg des Unternehmens: Die Ingenieure konstruierten einen transportierbaren, ferngesteuerten Bohrer. Dieser zog bald das Interesse australischer Ölunternehmen auf sich.

Für die Firmen in Down Under war die Erfindung eine gute Alternative zu großen Bohrschiffen, die sie zuvor aus der ganzen Welt chartern mussten.

„Das Besondere an Benthic ist, dass aus einem Gerät für eine bestimmte technische Notwendigkeit ein Unternehmen geworden ist und eben nicht andersherum“, erklärt Martin. 

In den folgenden Jahren wurde der Bohrer für die Anwendungen an Öl- und Gaslagerstätten weiter optimiert. „Wir können auch unter schwierigen Bedingungen an größere Mengen hochwertiger Proben kommen als jede andere Unterwasser-Bohranlage, die derzeit auf dem Markt ist“, so Martin weiter.

Drei unabhängig voneinander einstellbare Ausleger ermöglichen PROD auch auf unebenem Meeresgrund eine weiche Landung.

Drei Untersee-Bohrsysteme von Benthic sind heute rund um die Welt im Einsatz. Die Firma beschäftigt 115 Mitarbeiter. 2012 ist das Unternehmen mit seinem Hauptsitz von Australien nach Houston gezogen, einem der wichtigsten Standorte der Öl- und Gasbranche. Besonders stolz ist Martin auf ein aktuelles Projekt in Ostafrika: „Wir haben mit Kuehne+Nagel und Lufthansa Cargo in sieben Transporten 18,7 Tonnen Proben nach Houston liefern können. Ohne Schäden und ohne Verspätungen!“

www.benthic.com 

Öl und Gas.

Öl und Gas.

Aus langjähriger Erfahrung kennt Lufthansa Cargo die Transport­herausforderungen der Öl- und Gasindustrie. Besonders wichtig: extraschnelle Ersatzteillieferungen zum Aufrechterhalten des Betriebs auf Bohrplattformen. Immer wieder sind auch übergroße Frachtstücke oder Gefahrgüter an entlegene Orte zu befördern. Ganz gleich welcher Bedarf, Lufthansa Cargo hält das richtige Produkt bereit:

  • Emergency.Solutions – macht das Unmögliche möglich

  • Care/td – für Gefahrgut

  • Cool/td – für Temperatursensibles

  • td.Flash – für besonders Eiliges

  • td.Pro – für Standardfracht

  • Courier.Solutions – für persönlich überwachten Transit

Fotos:

iStockphoto

Lufthansa Cargo, Benthic

planet 2/2014

Story Image

Beyond the sea.

Equipment for the oil and gas industry has to be available at a moment’s notice – otherwise it can turn into a costly business. With its dense network, Lufthansa Cargo is a perfect partner to the industry. Take Benthic, for example: the geotechnical investigations specialist uses Cool/td to fly its drilling samples halfway around the world.

Far out at sea, a drilling rig is lowered into the ocean from a ship positioned off the coast of Mozambique. The colossus plunges into the water from a ramp on the stern of the ship to commence its work on the seabed at a depth of up to 3,000 meters. Once it reaches the bottom, the drill will bore itself into the ocean floor and take samples. Regardless of whether it encounters clay, sand, rocks or pebbles – the material it finds on the seabed will provide companies in the oil and gas industry with information on where best to place pipelines, construct foundations or anchor mooring systems for oil platforms.

Story Image

The samples, very often liters of soil and rock, can be worth millions to the industry. “Some of our planet’s largest geological structures can be found in the depths of the ocean. Also, the ocean floor is where we see the most volcanic activity and tectonic movement,” says Shannon Martin, Offshore Manager at Benthic. The seabed under the offshore oil fields, where major corporations plan to station their platforms in the future, involves a multitude of risks. The company for which Martin works specializes in collecting valuable data from the seabed.

Using special technology – the Portable Remotely Operated Drills called “PROD” for short at Benthic – the company now operates all around the world. Over the course of the last decade, the company has developed into an end-to-end supplier of geophysical and geotechnical consulting services, engineering technology and data collection services.

If heavy drilling equipment for a deep-sea well in the North Sea has to be transported as quickly as possible from Texas to Norway, or a defective pipeline part needs to be shipped to Brazil, the industry relies on airfreight.

Once operations on an oil platform grind to a halt, the standstill can cost several hundreds of thousands of dollars a day. Every minute counts when it comes to transports, specifically in the case of oil and gas exploitation, and Benthic is no exception: the company has no time to lose.

“Once we are on board an expensive offshore ship, a fast and efficient transport of spare parts and consumables is key,” says Martin. 

The company is particularly reliant on airfreight when it comes to transporting the samples which its drills have extracted from the seabed safely to the laboratory in Houston. It is vital that the consistency and temperature of the samples is not compromised during the shipping process to Texas which is why the samples are kept at a constant cool temperature during transport.

“Seabed sediment, in particular, is very susceptible to rough handling or fluctuations in temperature,” Martin explains. That is why the company invests considerable effort to avoid disruptions to the transport chain.

Kuehne + Nagel is responsible for the sophisticated logistics at Benthic.

When it comes to air transport, the company relies on the solutions provided by Kuehne + Nagel and Lufthansa Cargo.

Every six weeks, Vernon Sinden from Kuehne + Nagel and Jacques Nortje, in charge of Customer Development at Lufthansa Cargo in South Africa, organize shipments on behalf of Benthic from East Mozambique to North America.

The samples arrive on the mainland in a refrigerated container.

A truck transports the freight to the Pemba airport, where the samples are flown to Johannesburg by chartered aircraft – coordinated by Kuehne + Nagel.

In South Africa, Lufthansa Cargo takes over responsibility for the transport. The samples are flown to Houston via Frankfurt in a Unicooler, which heats and cools the cargo compartment. “Benthic mainly uses our Cool/td-Active product for its transport needs,” says Jacques Nortje.

This special service ensures the integrity of the cold chain during transport operations from Africa via Frankfurt to Houston and also guarantees complete documentation and proactive communication during transit.
    
The Unicooler, in which the samples are transported, ensures the appropriate temperatures.

“Efficient and well coordinated logistics are one of our most important success factors.

We rely strongly on the expertise of our logistics partner Kuehne + Nagel, and that allows us to do our job even in the most demanding and remote regions of the world,” says Martin. At Benthic, as many as six employees are involved in logistics operations. “In the past twelve months, we’ve transported 25 metric tons of samples from East Africa to Houston by airfreight,” says Martin.

The history of Benthic began in Sydney, Australia.

As its name suggests – the Greek word “benthos” means depth of the sea – the company is involved in deepwater investigations. Benthic itself evolved from a scientific research project conducted at the ­University of Sydney.

Even today, the result of this project is the key to the company’s success: its engineers designed a transportable, remote-controlled drill, which soon attracted the attention of Australian oil companies.

For companies based Down Under, this invention ­provided an excellent alternative to the large drilling vessels they had previously been forced to charter from all over the world.

“What sets Benthic apart is that the company grew from having developed equipment that fulfilled a specific technical requirement and not the other way around,” Martin explains.

In the following years, the drill was optimized even further for deployment in oil and gas deposits. “Even under the most difficult conditions, we can gain access to far more high-grade samples than any other underwater drilling rig currently available on the market,” says Martin.

Three independently adjustable cantilevers enable PROD to make a soft landing even on the most uneven seabed conditions.

Benthic currently has three underwater drilling systems in operation around the world. The company has 115 employees. In 2012 the firm moved its headquarters from Australia to Houston, one of the most important locations in the oil and gas industry. Martin is particularly proud of the company’s current project in East Africa. “We were able to deliver 18.7 tons of samples to Houston with Kuehne + Nagel and Lufthansa Cargo in seven transport operations. All arrived undamaged and without delay!”

www.benthic.com  

If heavy drilling equipment for a deep-sea well in the North Sea has to be transported as quickly as possible from Texas to Norway, or a defective pipeline part needs to be shipped to Brazil, the industry relies on airfreight.

Once operations on an oil platform grind to a halt, the standstill can cost several hundreds of thousands of dollars a day. Every minute counts when it comes to transports, specifically in the case of oil and gas exploitation, and Benthic is no exception: the company has no time to lose.

“Once we are on board an expensive offshore ship, a fast and efficient transport of spare parts and consumables is key,” says Martin. 

The company is particularly reliant on airfreight when it comes to transporting the samples which its drills have extracted from the seabed safely to the laboratory in Houston. It is vital that the consistency and temperature of the samples is not compromised during the shipping process to Texas which is why the samples are kept at a constant cool temperature during transport.

“Seabed sediment, in particular, is very susceptible to rough handling or fluctuations in temperature,” Martin explains. That is why the company invests considerable effort to avoid disruptions to the transport chain.

Kuehne + Nagel is responsible for the sophisticated logistics at Benthic.

When it comes to air transport, the company relies on the solutions provided by Kuehne + Nagel and Lufthansa Cargo.

Every six weeks, Vernon Sinden from Kuehne + Nagel and Jacques Nortje, in charge of Customer Development at Lufthansa Cargo in South Africa, organize shipments on behalf of Benthic from East Mozambique to North America.

The samples arrive on the mainland in a refrigerated container.

A truck transports the freight to the Pemba airport, where the samples are flown to Johannesburg by chartered aircraft – coordinated by Kuehne + Nagel.

In South Africa, Lufthansa Cargo takes over responsibility for the transport. The samples are flown to Houston via Frankfurt in a Unicooler, which heats and cools the cargo compartment. “Benthic mainly uses our Cool/td-Active product for its transport needs,” says Jacques Nortje.

This special service ensures the integrity of the cold chain during transport operations from Africa via Frankfurt to Houston and also guarantees complete documentation and proactive communication during transit.

The Unicooler, in which the samples are transported, ensures the appropriate temperatures.

“Efficient and well coordinated logistics are one of our most important success factors. We rely strongly on the expertise of our logistics partner Kuehne + Nagel, and that allows us to do our job even in the most demanding and remote regions of the world,” says Martin.

At Benthic, as many as six employees are involved in logistics operations. “In the past twelve months, we’ve transported 25 metric tons of samples from East Africa to Houston by airfreight,” says Martin.

The history of Benthic began in Sydney, Australia.

As its name suggests – the Greek word “benthos” means depth of the sea – the company is involved in deepwater investigations. Benthic itself evolved from a scientific research project conducted at the ­University of Sydney.

Even today, the result of this project is the key to the company’s success: its engineers designed a transportable, remote-controlled drill, which soon attracted the attention of Australian oil companies.

For companies based Down Under, this invention ­provided an excellent alternative to the large drilling vessels they had previously been forced to charter from all over the world.

“What sets Benthic apart is that the company grew from having developed equipment that fulfilled a specific technical requirement and not the other way around,” Martin explains.

In the following years, the drill was optimized even further for deployment in oil and gas deposits. “Even under the most difficult conditions, we can gain access to far more high-grade samples than any other underwater drilling rig currently available on the market,” says Martin.

Three independently adjustable cantilevers enable PROD to make a soft landing even on the most uneven seabed conditions.

Benthic currently has three underwater drilling systems in operation around the world. The company has 115 employees. In 2012 the firm moved its headquarters from Australia to Houston, one of the most important locations in the oil and gas industry. Martin is particularly proud of the company’s current project in East Africa. “We were able to deliver 18.7 tons of samples to Houston with Kuehne + Nagel and Lufthansa Cargo in seven transport operations. All arrived undamaged and without delay!”

www.benthic.com

Oil and Gas.

Oil and Gas.

Thanks to its long-standing exper­ience, Lufthansa Cargo is well-versed in the transport challenges faced by the oil and gas industry. One of the most important factors is providing extra fast spare part supplies to ensure continued operations on drilling platforms. The company is frequently tasked with transporting outsized freight or dangerous goods to remote locations. No matter what the requirements may be, Lufthansa Cargo offers the right product:

  • Emergency.Solutions – making the impossible possible

  • Care/td – for dangerous goods

  • Cool/td – for temperature-­sensitive goods

  • td.Flash – for urgent shipments

  • td.Pro – for standard freight

  • Courier.Solutions – for personally supervised transit

Photos:

iStockphoto

Lufthansa Cargo, Benthic

planet 2/2014