Story Image

Kunst in Kisten.

Was eint Picasso, Monet, Van Gogh und zahllose weitere Künstler? Ihre Werke sind schon mit Hasenkamp gereist. Der Dienstleister transportiert Kulturgüter jeder Art. Zuverlässig, weltweit – und in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Lufthansa Cargo.

Story Image

„Art is what you can get away with“ steht in großen Lettern auf der gerahmten Fotografie, die an der Wand hinter dem Schreibtisch von Klaus Knies hängt. Der Speditionskaufmann leitet seit Ende der 90er-Jahre die Niederlassung von Hasenkamp in Frankfurt. Das Andy-Warhol-Zitat in seinem Büro ist bezeichnend für den Umgang des Kölner Logistikunternehmens mit Kunstobjekten.

Hier fragt man sich nicht, was als Kunst zu betrachten ist. Vielmehr gesteht Hasenkamp jedem zu transportierenden Objekt seinen eigenen, unersetzbaren Wert zu. Einen Wert, nicht in erster Linie gemessen in monetären Größenordnungen, sondern von emotionaler und ideeller Dimension.

Story Image

Umso sensibler gestalten sich die logistischen Prozesse. Gemälde, Skulpturen, Installationen oder sonstige Kulturgüter jeder Art werden buchstäblich mit Samthandschuhen angefasst. „Kunst vergisst nicht, und Kunst verzeiht nicht“, sagt Klaus Knies und beschreibt damit das Credo der täglichen Arbeit bei Hasenkamp. Es gelte, alle potenziellen Gefahren auszuloten, um die Objekte sicher an ihr Ziel zu bringen. Das erfordert in vielen Fällen eine zeitintensive Vorbereitung.

„Was unseren Job so spannend macht: Kein Transport ist wie der andere“,

sagt Knies. In Erinnerung geblieben ist ihm zum Beispiel eine Oldtimer-Ausstellung im Museum of Fine Arts in Montreal in Kanada: Ein gecharterter Jumbo-Frachter flog die Wagen – Kulturgüter ganz besonderer Art – von Deutschland über den Atlantik. „Das war ein unvergessliches Bild, wie diese alten, schönen Autos aufgereiht auf dem Vorfeld standen und ins Flugzeug verladen wurden.“

Den Großteil ihrer Luftfrachttonnage, zuletzt mehr als 80 Prozent, lassen die Kunstexperten seit Jahren von Lufthansa Cargo befördern. Meist bucht Hasenkamp das Spezial-Produkt Safe/td2. „Wir wissen, dass wir die Kunstwerke in die Hände von geschultem Personal geben“, sagt Klaus Knies.

Nicht nur das: Die kostbare Ware ist in verplombten ­Containern unterwegs, am Boden wird sie in Sicherheitsbereichen gelagert. Die Transportkette wird lückenlos dokumentiert und ist ­dadurch für den Kunden nachzuverfolgen. Bei einem kleineren Anteil der Sendungen nutzt Hasenkamp zudem td.Pro: Das Standardprodukt von Lufthansa Cargo steht für einen gleichermaßen wirtschaftlichen und zuverlässigen Transport.

Story Image

Bei der Beförderung sensibler und hochwertiger Güter ist Hasenkamp mit mehr als 100 Jahren Erfahrung Marktführer in Europa. 1903 gegründet, wird das Familienunternehmen heute in vierter Generation geführt. An weltweit 37 Standorten sind rund 600 Mitarbeiter beschäftigt.

Die Präsenz in Frankfurt liegt in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Flughafen und dem wichtigsten Hub von Lufthansa Cargo. Drei klimatisierte Hallen bieten Platz für die Lagerung und den Umschlag der wertvollen Fracht.

Holzkisten in allen Größen stehen hier, oftmals sind sie weit gereist. Sie bergen Schätze von bekannten und weniger bekannten Künstlern. Picasso, Monet, Van Gogh – auch die größten Meister der Kunst „reisten“ schon in Kisten von Hasenkamp.

Story Image

Diese sind für sich genommen ebenfalls kleine Kunstwerke: Jede Kiste wird speziell für das darin zu verpackende Kunstobjekt angefertigt – von Schreinern und Schlossern in einer eigenen Manufaktur in Köln. Bemerkenswert ist die Stille im Lager. Dies hat einen guten Grund, wie Knies erklärt: „Ruhe und Gelassenheit sind das oberste Gebot für unser Geschäft. Das müssen wir auf unsere Kunden ausstrahlen, um Sicherheit und Vertrauen zu vermitteln.“

Story Image

Eine solide Vertrauensbeziehung zu seinen Kunden – neben Museen und Kunstgalerien auch Privatpersonen – baut Hasenkamp über jahrelange Zusammenarbeit aus. „Die Kunst ist ein Dorf“, so Knies. Eine überschaubare Gemeinschaft, in der man sich kennt. Umso entscheidender ist der Umgang miteinander. „Wichtig ist das richtige Gespür für sein Gegenüber“, sagt Knies – und verrät seine eigene Maxime: „Ich versuche, jedem Menschen, dem ich begegne, Respekt entgegenzubringen.“

  • Safe/td2 – für Begehrenswertes

  • td.Flash – für besonders Eiliges

  • td.Pro – für Standardfracht

  • Courier.Solutions – für persönlich überwachten Transit

Fotos:

Stefan Wildhirt

planet 2/2014

Story Image

Art in a box.

What do Picasso, Monet, Van Gogh and numerous other artists have in common? Their works of art have all traveled with Hasenkamp. The service provider transports all manner of cultural artifacts – reliably, worldwide and in close cooperation with Lufthansa Cargo

Story Image

“Art is what you can get away with,” reads the framed quote on the wall behind the desk belonging to Klaus Knies. The freight forwarding specialist has been head of the Hasenkamp branch office in Frankfurt since the late 1990s. The Andy Warhol quote in his office is indicative of the way this Cologne-based logistics company handles objets d’art.

Hasenkamp never questions whether something might be considered art. Instead the company acknowledges that each art object to be transported has its own intrinsic and irreplaceable value; and this value is not primarily measured in monetary units but rather in emotional and idealistic dimensions.

Story Image

As a result, the logistical processes are even more painstaking. Paintings, sculptures, art installations and all manner of cultural artifacts are handled with kid gloves – quite literally. “Art never forgets, and art never forgives,” says Klaus Knies describing the company philosophy behind the day-to-day work at Hasenkamp. All potential risks have to be explored in order to get the objects safely to their destination. And in many cases, that requires time-consuming preparation.

“What makes our job so thrilling is that no two transports are alike,”

says Knies. One particularly memorable occasion to him was a vintage car exhibition at the Museum of Fine Arts in Montreal in Canada: a chartered jumbo jet freighter flew the vehicles – unique cultural treasures – from Germany across the Atlantic. “It was an unforgettable image seeing these beautiful vintage cars lined up on the apron before they were loaded into the cargo bay.”

For years, art experts have commissioned Lufthansa Cargo with transporting the bulk of their airfreight tonnage, more than 80 percent most recently. For the most part, Hasenkamp books the special product Safe/td2. “We know that we are placing our works of art into the hands of skilled and trained personnel,” says Klaus Knies. 

And not only that: the precious goods are transported in sealed containers, and as long as they are on the ground, they are stored in security restricted areas. The transport chain is seamlessly documented, enabling the customer to monitor the transport at all times. Hasenkamp also uses the product td.Pro for a fraction of its consignments: the standard product from Lufthansa Cargo ensures both a cost-effective and reliable transport.

Story Image

When it comes to transporting particularly sensitive and highly valuable goods, Hasenkamp is the market leader in Europe with well over 100 years of experience. Founded in 1903, the company has been managed by four generations of the same family. With a staff of around 600 employees, it has branch offices in 37 locations around the world. 

Its Frankfurt office is located within easy reach of the airport and Lufthansa Cargo’s most important hub. Three climate-controlled halls offer enough space to store and transship the valuable consignments. 

Wooden crates in all sizes stand here, and very often they have traveled a long distance. They contain treasures from famous and less well-known artists. Picasso, Monet, Van Gogh – even the greatest masters have “traveled” in Hasenkamp’s crates. 

Story Image

These crates are little works of art in their own right: each is purpose-built to package the artifact by carpenters and metalworkers at the company’s own production workshop in Cologne. The silence in the warehouse is remarkable, and there is a good reason for this as Klaus Knies explains. “Calmness and cool-headedness are of paramount importance in our business. That is what we need to project to the customer in order to convey reliability and trust.”

Story Image

In many years of cooperation, Hasenkamp has built up a sound relationship of trust to its customers, which also include private individuals alongside museums and art galleries. “The art world is a village,” says Knies, a small community in which people know each other well. That makes social interaction all the more crucial. “It’s important to have a keen sense of whom you’re dealing with,” says Knies and reveals his own maxim: “I try to treat everyone I meet with respect.”

Many works of art are priceless and need to be specially secured during transport. Musicians on tour rely on the proper transportation of their instruments. These are only two examples for the logistical requirements involved in art and culture – requirements which Lufthansa Cargo understands from long years of experience and which it is in an excellent position to fulfill with these products:

  • Safe/td2 – for highly desirable shipments

  • td.Flash – for urgent shipments

  • td.Pro – for standard freight

  • Courier.Solutions – for personally supervised transit

Photos:

Stefan Wildhirt

planet 2/2014