Story Image

Der Check-in für die Fracht.

Selbst einchecken und wertvolle Zeit sparen: Was für Passagiere längst Routine ist, gibt es bei Lufthansa Cargo nun auch für Luftfracht. So nutzen die Testkunden DB Schenker und Kühne + Nagel die neuen Self-service Terminals am Lufthansa Cargo Center (LCC).

Cargo City Süd, Gebäude 529. Auf dem Monitor vor Winfried Neu erscheint eine gute Nachricht. Über das ePortal der Lufthansa Cargo wird ihm mitgeteilt, dass die Sendung aus Hongkong abholbereit ist. Der Importbroker von DB Schenker zeigt auf den Bildschirm: Grüne Häkchen signalisieren, dass die Fracht im Lufthansa Cargo Center (LCC) eingecheckt und die Zollfreigabe erfolgt ist.

„Unser Fahrer vor Ort muss jetzt auf nichts mehr warten“, sagt Neu. Mit nur wenigen Mausklicks stellt er für Fahrer Pawel Nowicki den Abholauftrag zusammen. Dabei fasst Neu gleich mehrere abholbereite Sendungen zu einer „Quick pick-up Gruppe“ zusammen. Er wählt den Service „Quick pick-up“ aus und die entsprechenden Luftfrachtbriefe. 

Danach trägt er Fahrer- und Fahrzeugdaten in die Maske ein. Statt einen Stapel Papiere bekommen die Fahrer von DB Schenker für ihre Sendungsliste nur noch einen Code mit auf den Weg. So auch Pawel Nowicki.

Die DB Schenker-Niederlassung in der Cargo City Süd nimmt an der Testphase für eine neue digitale Frachtannahme und Auslieferung der Lufthansa Cargo teil. Zu dieser gehören zum einen die Anwendungen im ePortal der Airline. Zum anderen aber vor allem auch die Self-service Terminals, an denen die Fahrer direkt die Rampe zugewiesen bekommen, an der sie die Sendungen übernehmen.

Story Image

Keine Wartezeiten an der Rampe – ein Meilenstein für Spediteure.

Für den Weg von der Cargo City Süd zum LCC braucht Pawel Nowicki mit seinem Truck in der Regel nur wenige Minuten. Ein Lkw von DB Schenker pendelt permanent zwischen den beiden Warehouses nördlich und südlich des Frankfurter Airports. „Für den Import ist die Lufthansa Cargo unser größter Carrier. Wir bekommen 80 bis 90 Sendungen täglich vom Frachtkranich“, sagt Nouri Boulahrouz, Leiter des Importhubs in der Geschäftsstelle von DB Schenker. Vom System, das er mit seinem Team seit vergangenem Jahr getestet hat, ist er überzeugt: „Für uns Spediteure ist das ein Meilenstein. Wir wissen jetzt, dass der Annahme nichts mehr im Weg steht, wenn wir die Fahrer losschicken“, sagt der 43-Jährige. Er deutet Richtung Monitor, der die Daten der Sendung noch anzeigt. „Die Fahrer müssen auf nichts mehr warten, erfahren vor Ort nur noch, wo genau im LCC sie die Ware entgegennehmen.“ Er fügt hinzu: „Ganz klar positiv für uns: Wir sind so schneller wieder unterwegs und je mehr Touren unsere Lkw schaffen, desto effizienter arbeiten wir.“
Story Image

Fahrer Pawel Nowicki ist mittlerweile am LCC eingetroffen. Per Barcode checkt er an einen der Self-service Terminals im Importbereich ein. Er wählt die Option „Pick-up“ und bestätigt die Daten, die nun angezeigt werden. Innerhalb kürzester Zeit verrät ihm das Terminal die Rampe, die er nun anfahren muss.

Nach der Übernahme der Sendung unterschreibt Pawel Nowicki auf dem Scanner des Warehouse-Mitarbeiters. In der DB Schenker-Niederlassung auf der Südseite des Frankfurter Flughafens wird Winfried Neu in Echtzeit informiert: Im ePortal sieht er Ankunfts- und Abfahrtszeitstempel des Lkw. Nouri Boulahrouz: „Uns bleiben so größere Aufwände vor Ort erspart. Die Fahrer müssen sich nicht noch in Büros melden, um Informationen zur Sendung zu bekommen.“

Story Image

Um 16.20 Uhr soll eine Boeing 777F von Frankfurt nach Atlanta starten. Bei Kühne + Nagel in der Cargo City Süd stehen drei Luftfrachtpaletten bereit. Der Spediteur testet das System der digitalen Frachtannahme für den Exportbereich. „Die e-Freight Quote zwischen Lufthansa Cargo und Kühne + Nagel ist hoch. Wir können bei allen unseren Sendungen profitieren“, sagt Projekt-Manager Markus Staab. Einen großen Vorteil sieht man bei Kühne + Nagel im sogenannten PreCheck, der die Sendungsdaten vorab auf Vollständigkeit prüft. Ziel: Der Fahrer muss am LCC angekommen nur noch die richtige Abladestelle erfahren. Verzögerungen durch Wartezeiten sollen vermieden werden. Bei Kühne + Nagel stellt der Disponent über das ePortal die Sendungen zusammen und schickt den digitalen AWB an Lufthansa Cargo. Ein AutoContentCheck überprüft vollautomatisiert die Daten.
Story Image

Sind Daten unvollständig, erfährt das der Disponent sofort.

Ab dem Zeitpunkt der Datenübermittlung checkt zudem ein geschulter Mitarbeiter der Lufthansa Cargo die vorliegenden Informationen. Müssen fehlende Sendungsdaten nachgereicht werden, informiert er nun den Disponenten von Kühne + Nagel. Staab: „Durch den vorgelagerten PreCheck fallen Fehler im Datensatz schon vorab auf, sodass die Daten korrigiert werden können, ohne eine Verzögerung der Anlieferung zu verursachen.“

Story Image

Im eService-Bereich der Lufthansa Cargo Website trägt der Disponent auch schon die Fahrer- und Fahrzeugdaten ein. Dafür erhält er einen Code, den er per SMS oder E-Mail auf das Smartphone von Fahrer Heiko Anthes-Hoffmann weiterleitet. Der 49-Jährige arbeitet eigentlich als Disponent für Kühne + Nagel. PreCheck und „Quick drop-off“ am Self-service Terminal will er heute aus Fahrersicht erleben. „Zeit ist entscheidend für uns. Wenn wir lange warten müssen, bis wir an die Rampe können, ist das ein Problem.“ Mit den Sendungen für die USA ist er nun Richtung LCC unterwegs. „Es kann passieren, dass die Tageslenkzeit eines Fahrers abläuft. Dann darf ich nicht weiterfahren. Solche Situationen müssen wir unbedingt verhindern.“

Story Image

Auf der Nordseite des Airports hat der Lkw sein Ziel erreicht. Neben den Rampen stehen die Self-service Terminals für den Quick drop-off. In nur wenigen Augenblicken hat Anthes-Hoffmann eingecheckt. Am Terminal werden kritische Daten erneut geprüft, dann spuckt das Gerät einen Zettel mit der Angabe zur Rampe aus. Die Anmeldung am Schalter entfällt somit. „Das ist ein großer Vorteil für uns“, sagt Heiko Anthes-Hoffmann.

Bei der Annahme werden die Packstücke per Scanner registriert. Das tatsächliche Gewicht und Volumen wird nun via SmartGate mit den zuvor übermittelten Sendungsdaten verglichen. Auf der anderen Seite des Flughafens sitzt der Disponent am Rechner. Den Weg der Sendung verfolgt er online, er sieht, wann die Ware zwischengelagert wurde und abfliegt. Pünktlich zur anvisierten Zeit heben die drei Paletten an Bord der B777F ab. Der Disponent hat auch die Lenkzeit von Fahrer Anthes-Hoffmann im Blick: Im Kühne + Nagel-Lager in der Cargo City Süd ist noch eine Sendung bereit für den Abtransport zum LCC. Ein großer Vorteil: Da die Wartezeiten nun kürzer sind als früher, hat Anthes-Hoffmann noch genug Lenkzeit für eine weitere Tour.

Fotos: Alex Kraus

Planet 1/2019

Story Image

Check-in for freight.

Checking in yourself to save precious time: what has long since become routine for passengers is now also available for airfreight, with Lufthansa Cargo. Here is how test customers DB Schenker and Kuehne + Nagel are using the new self-service terminals at the Lufthansa Cargo Center (LCC).

Cargo City South, Building 529. The monitor facing Winfried Neu has some good news. Via Lufthansa Cargo’s ePortal, he is told that the shipment from Hong Kong is ready to be picked up. The import broker from DB Schenker points at the screen: green ticks indicate that the freight has been checked in at the Lufthansa Cargo Center (LCC), and customs clearance has been given.

“Our driver on site now does not have to wait for anything anymore,” says Neu. With just a few mouse clicks, he prepares the pick-up order for the driver, Pawel Nowicki. While he is at it, Neu quickly combines several consignments that are ready for pick-up into a “Quick pick-up group.” He selects the “Quick pick-up” service, along with the relevant airfreight consignment notes.

He then enters the details for the driver and the vehicle into the input mask. Instead of a whole wad of paper, the DB Schenker drivers are now only given a code for their con-signment list to send them on their way. As is the case with Pawel Nowicki.

The DB Schenker branch at Cargo City South is participating in the test phase for a new digital freight acceptance and delivery system at Lufthansa Cargo. This includes the use of the applications in the airline’s ePortal, and especially the self-service terminals where the drivers are assigned straight to the ramp where they receive their shipments.

Story Image

No more waiting at the ramp – a milestone for forwarders.

The trip from Cargo City South to the LCC usually takes Pawel Nowicki and his truck just a few minutes. A DB Schenker truck constantly shuttles between the two warehouses located north and south of Frankfurt Airport. “In terms of imports, Lufthansa Cargo is our biggest carrier. We receive 80 to 90 consignments a day from them,” says Nouri Boulahrouz, the manager of the import hub at the DB Schenker office. He is impressed with the system that he and his team have been testing since last year: “For us forwarders, it represents a milestone. Now we can be certain that there won’t be any obstacles to the acceptance of a shipment when we send the driver to go pick it up,” says the 43-year-old. He points towards the monitor that is still displaying the details of the shipment. “The drivers no longer have to wait around for anything, and when they get there they are just told where exactly within the LCC they can pick up the goods.” He adds: “It is clearly a plus for us: it means we can be on our way again sooner, and the more trips our trucks can manage, the more efficient we operate.”
Story Image

The driver Pawel Nowicki has meanwhile arrived at the LCC. He uses a barcode to check in at one of the self-service terminals in the import section. He selects the option “Pick-up” and confirms the data displayed in response. Within a very short time, the terminal indicates the ramp he should drive to.

Once he takes on the consignment, Pawel Nowicki signs on the scanner presented by the warehouse employee. At the DB Schenker branch south of Frankfurt Airport, Winfried Neu is kept informed in real time: he can see the timestamps for the truck’s arrival and departure in the ePortal. Nouri Boulahrouz: “This saves us having to spend lengthy periods on site. The drivers do no longer have to report to offices in order get information about shipments.”

Story Image

At 16:20 hours, a Boeing 777F is scheduled to take off from Frankfurt en route to Atlanta. At Kuehne + Nagel in Cargo City South, three airfreight pallets are ready for shipping. The forwarding company is testing the digital freight acceptance system for the export segment. “The e-freight quota between Lufthansa Cargo and Kuehne + Nagel is high. We are able to make a profit on all our shipments,” says project manager Markus Staab. A major benefit from the point of view of Kuehne + Nagel is the socalled PreCheck, where consignment data is checked for completeness in advance. The objective: having arrived at the LCC, all the driver needs to be told is the correct unloading station. This is intended to eliminate delays due to waiting times. The dispatcher at Kuehne + Nagel compiles the shipments via the ePortal and sends the digital AWB to Lufthansa Cargo. A fully automated AutoContentCheck reviews the information.
Story Image

If the data is incomplete, the dispatcher is informed immediately.

Once the data has been transmitted, a trained employee of Lufthansa Cargo also checks the available information. If missing data about a consignment still needs to be submitted, this employee alerts the dispatcher at Kuehne + Nagel. Staab: “Thanks to the upstream PreCheck, errors in the data set are spotted in advance, allowing the data to be corrected without causing delays in deliveries.”

Story Image

In the eService section of the Lufthansa Cargo website, the dispatcher already enters the driver and vehicle details. He is then issued a code which he forwards to the smartphone of driver Heiko Anthes-Hoffmann by SMS or email. The 49-year-old actually works as a dispatcher for Kuehne + Nagel. Today he wants to get a taste of the PreCheck and “Quick drop-off” at the self-service terminal from the drivers’ point of view. “Time is of the essence for us. If we have to wait a long time before we can proceed to the ramp, that creates a problem for us.” He is now on his way to the LCC with the consignments destined for the United States. “It can happen that a driver’s permitted daily driving time runs out. When that happens, I am not allowed to continue on my trip. These are the types of situations we need to avoid at all costs.”

Story Image

The truck has reached its destination north of the airport. Next to the ramps are the self-service terminals for the Quick drop-off. It only takes Anthes-Hoffmann a few moments to complete the check-in. Critical data is checked again at the terminal, and then the machine spits out a slip of paper showing which ramp to go to. Reporting at the counter is thus a thing of the past. “This is of great benefit to us,” says Heiko Anthes-Hoffmann.

At the acceptance, the parcels are registered using a scanner. Via SmartGate, their weights and volumes are now compared with the consignment data transmitted earlier. On the other side of the airport, the dispatcher sits at a computer. He is tracking the shipment online, he can see what time the goods went into intermediate storage, and what time it departed. On board the B777F, the three pallets take off right on time. The dispatcher also keeps an eye on the permitted driving time for the driver Anthes-Hoffmann: at the Kuehne + Nagel warehouse at the Cargo City South, there is still a consignment ready for transportation to the LCC. A big advantage: as the waiting times are shorter now, Anthes-Hoffmann has enough time left to complete another trip.

Photos: Alex Kraus

Planet 1/2019